Earthquakes and Floods and Tornadoes, Oh My!

I am a wastrel.  It’s true.  That’s what the water company says.

Apparently, we left the hose on.  That’s the only explanation.  We did not shower, do laundry or make any more coffee than we normally do.  Yet somehow, we managed to use on average of 747 gallons of water per day for the month of August.  That is a heck of a lot of water.

The irony of the situation is that the hose was on in a futile attempt to grow vegetables in the garden we were trying to cultivate.  The jalapenos have come in fairly nicely, but my thumb is not green enough to grow cucumbers, zucchini or any kind of squash.  But I digress…

The point is, that at that point of the summer.  There had not been enough natural irrigation to keep my poor little veggies alive.  Now, we are getting more rain than we could possibly want.  Seriously, enough already.  We get the point, now let’s spread it around a bit.  According to Action News this morning, Philadelphia is quickly approaching 6 inches of rain so far for the month of September.  My back lawn could take 747 gallons per day rushing from a garden hose, but 6 inches of rain in a week is just too much.

Moments ago, the School District of Springfield Township called me to inform me that there will be no school today.  Third day of school and we’re already closed.  I can’t say that I disagree with that particular decision.  After all, Bethlehem Pike through Flourtown was quite a mess yesterday as may secondary roads were shut down (Valley Green, Mill, Stenton).  Wissahickon Creek looked just about fit to burst at Skippack Pike yesterday morning.  Skippack Pike lost that battle this morning.  Septa has suspended service on the Norristown, Chestnut Hill West, Warminster and Lansdale lines.

If you don’t have to go anywhere today, then it is a good day to just stay inside and ride this out at home.  Roads are flooded, highways are closed due to mudslides. Add them to the natural disaster parade of the past two weeks: earthquakes, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes…you get the idea.  If you must venture out, please be safe and don’t try to drive through puddles.  Myself, I will be working from home today.

About Joshua Stein

They say that owning your own home is a major part of living "The American Dream." I'm proud to be an active part in making that dream a realty for the good people of the Delaware Valley as a Realtor® with Coldwell Banker Preferred's Conshohocken office. I am actively involved with the Brotherhood of Congregation Beth Or as well as a proud parent in the Greene Street Friends School community. I also served as Den Leader for my son's cub scout pack as well as a member of the Cub Pack 173 Committee in Flourtown, and now with Boy Scout Troop 665. Professionally, I also hold membership in the Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, and National Association of Realtors®. Whether you or someone you know and love are buying or selling your home, I look forward to servicing all of your real estate needs on the Main Line and beyond.

Posted on September 8, 2011, in Assorted Musings & Observations, Real Estate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment