Craigslist Scam Warning

In an attempt to help build my real estate business, I decided to follow some advice I received and post an ad on Craigslist.  The jury is still out as to how well it will work for me, but that is not the topic for today.

In my inbox this morning, I received an e-mail from the “CEO” of Craigslist.  The text of that e-mail follows:

Attention Craigslist User,
 
My name is David Walker, Chief executive officer of Craigslist. We have recently joined up with Apple for a one-time promotional event today, we are giving away complimentary Apple iPhones and iPads to randomly selected individuals who have submitted an ad on Craig’s list. You have been chosen as one of our most recent winners for today. We randomly select numbers to match up with ads on Craigslist and your advertisement matched with our latest drawing.

We have partnered up with Apple inc to advertise their hottest product yet, the Apple iPhone and iPad. Once yet again, we are running this campaign for one-day only. All you need to do is CLICK HERE (link removed) to go to our web site made for this promotion and key in your email to get yours for free. Simply make sure you enter your email so we may locate our records to ensure that we have reserved one for you. That is it!

Congrats on winning a free Apple iPhone4 and iPad2. If you have any query or concerns, feel free to e-mail me back. However, you should claim your free iPhone and iPad 1st to ensure one will be set-aside for you before the deadline ends. We do understand that you may not receive this e-mail until after the deadline, however, we advise you check out the site and enter your email to see if we still have yours on hold, which we often-times do because others have not claimed theirs in time.

David Walker
CEO, Craigslist
 

I know that you all will be shocked to find out that this is not actually an e-mail from the CEO of Craigslist.  My first clue was that this was sent from a Hotmail account.  Not exactly the most professional sounding web address.  I would have ferreted it out quicker only if this “CEO” was using AOL.  It seems that this e-mail is being sent to anyone who has posted an ad or service on Craigslist recently.

Whatever you do, DON’T CLICK ON THE LINK!

I would love to tell you what happens if you do, but I decided it best not to subject my office computer to an outside attack of any kind.  A quick google search told me all that I needed to know about the veracity of this e-mail.

Remember the Golden Rule of the Internet: “If it sounds too good to be true, someone is scamming you.”

Be safe out there.

About Joshua Stein

They say that owning your own home is a major part of living "The American Dream." I'm proud to be an active part in making that dream a realty for the good people of the Delaware Valley as a Realtor® with Coldwell Banker Preferred's Conshohocken office. I am actively involved with the Brotherhood of Congregation Beth Or as well as a proud parent in the Greene Street Friends School community. I also served as Den Leader for my son's cub scout pack as well as a member of the Cub Pack 173 Committee in Flourtown, and now with Boy Scout Troop 665. Professionally, I also hold membership in the Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, and National Association of Realtors®. Whether you or someone you know and love are buying or selling your home, I look forward to servicing all of your real estate needs on the Main Line and beyond.

Posted on September 29, 2011, in Assorted Musings & Observations, Real Estate and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey Josh – doing my weekly SEO check and your site came up. Hope you picked-up some good info in the SEO class at Starbucks Dresher? At any rate if I can help with anything else let me know!

    • Bill,

      Thanks for dropping by. Sorry I’m responding 7 months later, but I have let this site go fallow for quite some time. You might think I didn’t pick up any good tips, just poor blogging habits. I will be re-working everything soon and hope for it to be better than ever in the near future.

      Enjoy your holidays, and I hope we all have an amazing 2013!

      Joshua Stein

Leave a Reply

